Homemade Peppermint Patties

 

Image

     Hello!  I have a fun treat for you today…homemade peppermint patties!  These are minty, taste like the original (so I’m told), and are refreshing on a hot July afternoon.  I think that these would also be festive and fun for a Christmas party, especially if they were dressed up with red and green sprinkles.

     The peppermint patties are surprisingly easy to make.  When I made them, though, they weren’t exactly fast.  The recipe says these take a total time of thirty minutes, but it took me closer to an hour and a half.  Of course, I didn’t finish these until after midnight, and I had spent my afternoon and evening making seven dozen triple chocolate cookies.  I would have to say that I wasn’t moving at top speed.   When I make these again, I’m sure it will go quite a bit faster.  I’m always pretty slow-moving the first time I try a recipe.

      The recipe says to add two cups of powdered sugar at first and then add the rest in half-cup increments until the desired consistency is reached.  I forgot to count how many cups of powdered sugar I ended up using (stupid of me!), but the mixture was no longer sticky when I tried to roll it in a ball when I stopped adding sugar.  It was quite a bit of sugar!

      All right, try these, let me know what you think, and have a good day!

Image

One thought on “Homemade Peppermint Patties

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Chip Meltaways - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Share your thoughts

